Week 150: Gallery at the Library Where I Work

In the periodicals room, we put up local artwork. Currently it is photographs and a few life stories by Lynette Blecha about the AIDS Project of the Ozarks.

I was floored when I saw this. I honestly didn’t think that we would even have something like this around here, let alone someone would photograph it, let alonepublic library would display the artwork (which includes a picture of a pile of condoms). But mostly, I was floored because I felt less alone. I realize that obviously I’m not the only gay person in Missouri, but I do realize that we don’t get a lot of press or support. So this really touched me. I’ll have the pictures I took up on scb eventually.

Leave a Reply

